Salted Caramel Breakfast Oats

On work days my breakfast is almost always an overnight oats combination and during the Summer months I enjoy a bowl of yogurt and homemade granola for breakfast on weekends but during winter I need something warmer for breakfast on the weekend, something to fill my belly and keep me going through the morning.

During Winter I also play field hockey on a Saturday and am often playing two games starting from midday which means my breakfast really needs to fuel my body I want a solid healthy breakfast and this oat recipe offers the perfect breakfast option.

This recipe makes the creamiest and tastiest oats and the dates offer a wonderful caramel flavour without being too sweet. I found this recipe makes enough for 2 people to enjoy a big bowl of warm and delicious salted caramel breakfast oats.

Salted Caramel Breakfast Oats
Salted Caramel Breakfast Oats

Salted Caramel Breakfast Oats

5 dried dates
1 tablespoon almond or other nut butter
1 teaspoon coconut oil melted
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup oats
Pinch salt to taste
1 cup milk

  1. In a blender, add the all ingredients except oats and milk, and blitz until it forms a smooth caramel paste
  2. Cook oats on a stove top with milk until creamy adding additional milk or water to reach your desired consistency.
  3. Add the caramel mixture to the cooked oats and stir through.

 

Leave a comment