Jelly Crystal Biscuits

Since I received my biscuit press for Christmas I have been looking for any excuse to make more biscuits. When I first received this precious gift I spent a long time looking through multiple biscuit recipes that suit the biscuit press and was really desperate to make these. I love the idea of putting jelly crystals into a biscuit and for some reason I had a pack of jelly sitting in the cupboard.

However at the same time I received my biscuit press I also received my double edge brownie pan that I also promptly put to work creating chocolate brownies before I started looking into biscuit recipes. As a result it was Boxing Day and I had used my last egg…

The happy ending to my Boxing Day baking story is espresso biscuits and today I have realised the dream of making biscuits with jelly crystals.

These biscuits taste amazing but just quietly I was a little disappointed when I was making them. My cooking brain activated while I was following the recipe and I thought – maybe I should hold back some flour and see how this goes, maybe add the last cup in stages?

For some unknown reason, maybe it was because it is mid week and I am tired, maybe because it is dinner time and I was too busy making biscuits and not eating but I did the unthinkable and ignored my cooking brain and added all 3 cups at once. So ignoring my cooking brain meant these biscuits were just a little difficult to put through the biscuit press.

All the pictures I see of these biscuits also have really bright colours. I came to the conclusion early on in building the ingredients together for this this recipe that to achieve those bright colours I would need to add food colour to achieve those beautiful bright colours. However this was a quick midweek cook, did I mention I was just a little tired, and food colouring just seemed like way too much effort on this occasion.

In the end these biscuits looks pretty, thanks to my favourite biscuit press and tasted like little mouthfuls of bliss, They are literally one bite so we all needed a few mouthfuls and had to stop ourselves from eating them all before dinner!

Jelly-crystal-biscuit-1

 

Jelly Crystal Biscuits

1 cup butter, room temperature
2/3 cup sugar
1 Jelly crystals (NOT sugar free)
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon baking powder
3 cups all-purpose flour

  1. Preheat oven to 200C
  2. In the bowl of a mixer, beat together the butter, sugar, and Jelly crystals. Scrape the sides of the bowl. Add the egg and vanilla, and mix well; scrape the sides of the bowl. Add the baking powder and flour, and mix well. Let the dough sit for 15 minutes before loading it into the biscuit press.
  3. Load the dough into your biscuit press, press the dough onto un-greased baking sheets. Alternatively shape a tablespoon of mixture into a ball and press down onto tray
  4. Bake the biscuits for 6-8 minutes, until they are no longer shiny, and not starting to brown. Let the biscuits sit on the baking sheet for 2-3 minutes and then remove them to paper towels. Cool completely before storing in an airtight container.

    Makes about 100

Jelly-crystal-biscuit-2

 

Leave a comment